Thursday, March 5, 2015


The Kriegsmarine (German pronunciation: [ˈkʁiːksmaˌʁiːnə], War Navy) was the navy of Nazi Germany from 1935 to 1945. It superseded the Imperial German Navy of World War I and the inter-war Reichsmarine. The Kriegsmarine was one of three official branches of the Wehrmacht, the armed forces of Nazi Germany.

The Kriegsmarine grew rapidly during German naval rearmament in the 1930s (the Treaty of Versailles had limited the size of the German navy previously). Kriegsmarine ships were deployed to the waters around Spain during the Spanish Civil War, under the guise of enforcing non-intervention, but in reality supporting the Franco side of the war.

In January 1939 Plan Z was ordered, calling for naval parity with the Royal Navy by 1944. However, when World War II broke out in September 1939, Plan Z was shelved i

Italian cruiser Alberico da Barbiano

Alberico da Barbiano was an Italian Condottieri class light cruiser, that served in the Regia Marina during World War II. She was named after Alberico da Barbiano, an Italian condottiero of the 14th century.

§Launch and Sea Trials

Italian cruiser Alberico da Barbiano

Da Barbiano was launched on 23 August 1930. During her trials she managed to reach a speed of 42.05 knots (77.88 km/h), but to do that the propulsion was pushed to 123,479 hp, far beyond the safety limits. She could only maintain this speed for about 30 minutes.

§Service history

On July 9, 1940 she

Ukishima Maru

Ukishima Maru was a Japanese naval transport vessel. She was originally built as a passenger ship in March 1937. During World War II, she served as a naval vessel after receiving heavy armament. She measured 4,731 gross register tons.

The Ukishima Maru incident

Ukishima Maru

On 22 August 1945, Ukishima Maru was carrying 3,725 Korean labourers and their families from a military facility in the Aomori prefecture, headed towards the Korean port of Busan. On the 24th, the ship entered the port of Maizuru, where the ship struck an American naval mine, exploded and sank, killing 524 Koreans and 25 Japanese on board, according to Japanese government figures. However, the actual n

Operation Vigorous

Operation Vigorous was a Second World War Allied operation to deliver a supply convoy (MW-11) that sailed from Haifa and Port Said on 12 June 1942 to Malta. The convoy encountered heavy Axis air and sea opposition and returned to Alexandria on 16 June.


Operation Vigorous

Until the French surrender and Italy's declaration of war, the Mediterranean had been an Allied "lake". The French Fleet and the Royal Navy's Mediterranean Fleet dominated the only potential and credible adversary, Italy's Regia Marina.

The French

HMS Cornwall (56)

HMS Cornwall (56) was a County class heavy cruiser of the Kent subclass built for the Royal Navy in the mid-1920s. She was built at Devonport Dockyard (Plymouth, UK).


HMS Cornwall (56)

In a single ship action of 8 May 1941 Cornwall sank the German commerce raider Pinguin but was hit in the stern. She returned to Durban for repairs, which were completed on 10 June 1941. On 25 November 1941, Cornwall intercepted the Vichy-French merchant Surcouf off the east coast of Somalia and brought her to Aden. The Surcouf was en route to Djibouti with food.

In early April 1942, Cornwall and her sister ship HMS Dorsetshir